Kenya Off-Grid Solar Access Project (KOSAP)

KOSAPS proposed project development objective is to increase access to energy services in underserved counties of Kenya.

Providing equal opportunities to the entire country is key to achieving vision 2030 and especially the national target of achieving universal access to electricity by 2020. This desire has led the Government of Kenya to seek to close the access gap by providing electricity services to remote, low density and traditionally underserved areas of the country. The proposed K-OSAP directly promotes these objectives by supporting use of solar technology to drive electrification of households (including host communities around the refugee camp), enterprises, community facilities and water pumps.

Project Scope of K-OSAP
The project will target 14 out of the 47 counties in Kenya that have been defined as marginalized by the Commission on Revenue Allocation (CRA). The 14 underserved counties collectively represent 72% of the country’s total land area and 20% of the total population. The population is highly dispersed at a density of 4 times lower than the national average. These counties are also characterized by infrastructural deficits, including lack of access to roads, electricity, water and social services most of which are soon going to be a thing of the past thanks to devolution. The 14 counties include; Garissa, Isiolo, Kilifi, Kwale, Lamu, Mandera, Marsabit, Narok, Samburu, Taita
Taveta, Tana River, Turkana, Wajir and West Pokot. The total number of un-electrified households are roughly 1.2 million in these counties.

Project Documents


  • K-OSAP ESIA REPORTS - (Uploaded November 30, 2023)


    RPF Reports

    SA Report

  • Boresha Umeme

    Boresha Umeme is a Kenya Power initiative through which it intends to improve the quality of power supply to its large power and domestic customers within Industrial Area, Nairobi. The operation will involve master repair works such as the rehabilitation of jumpers and the realignment of high tension lines. It will be centered on ten substations namely: NSSF, Nairobi South, Nairobi West, Mombasa Road, New Airport, Syokimau, and New Industrial, Athi River, Jogoo Road, and Dara. The operation will greatly complement the efforts that the Company has put towards reducing power interruptions for its large power and essential service customers.