Customer Information...

Surges of Wisdom

Content facilisis neque sed massa. Praesent
nulla. In rutrum dapibus nisl.
Quisque eros nunc, posuere posuere,
egestas id, sagittis suscipit, risus.






Paying your Electricity Bill


Paying your Electricity Bill with M-Pesa (Safaricom)

1. Select “Pay Bill” from the M-Pesa menu.
2. Enter the Kenya Power business number 888 888.
3. Enter your full Kenya Power account number e.g. 123456-01.
4. Enter the amount you wish to pay which should be between KShs. 100 and  KShs.35,000.
5. Enter your M-Pesa PIN.

6. Confirm that all details are correct.

7. You will receive a confirmation of the transaction via SMS.

Please note that it takes 48 hours for Kenya Power to update your account.


Paying your Electricity Bill with Airtel Money (Airtel)

1. Select ''Airtel Money'' from the menu.

2. Click on "Make Payments".

3. Select "Paybill".

4. Choose Kenya Power Bill for postpaid bill OR Kenya Power Prepaid for purchase of tokens.

5. Enter the amount you wish to pay.

6. Enter your Airtel Money PIN.

5. Under the reference option, type your full Kenya Power account number e.g. 123456-01.6. Confirm that all details are correct.

7. You will receive a confirmation of the transaction via SMS.

 The transaction takes 24 hours to be updated.

You can check your Kenya Power bill by sending the first part of your account number e.g. 123456 by SMS to 5551.

Cash Payment
As a rule, all cash payments should be made at Kenya Power's authorised pay points which are located within official premises and the paying counters clearly marked CASHIER.

Postal Corporation of Kenya

You can also pay your bill in any of the over 200 post offices countrywide.


Uchumi Supermarkets

Selected Uchumi supermarkets are additional alternative paying points. They include:

  • Uchumi Capital Centre
  • Lang’ata Hypermarket
  • Ngong Hypermarket
  • Uchumi Meru

ATM Payments

If you have an account with Co-operative Bank, Postbank or Standard Chartered Bank, you may also pay your bill through any of these banks’ Automatic Teller Machines (ATMs).


Bank Payments
You may also pay your electricity bill by cash through appointed Co-operative Bank branches in Nairobi. Additionally, you can pay your electricity bill at any branch of the following banks countrywide.

  • National Bank of Kenya (at no extra cost)
  • Postbank (at no extra cost)
  • Barclays Bank of Kenya
  • Co-operative Bank
  • Standard Chartered
  • Postal Corporation of Kenya (at no extra cost)


Cheque Payments
Cheques may be deposited in designated boxes in pay centres and at specific business premises appointed by Kenya Power to serve as drop-off points.


Bill Payment Through M-Banking

If you are a Co-operative Bank customer, your mobile phone is now an electricity bill payment point. To use the service, one must be registered with the bank for M-Banking service and also one must have registered their Kenya Power account number with the bank.


Kenya Power Customer Care: 0722 207 998 / 020 320 1000